Trip History & Info
NEW - RgA Rules


2023 Trip Info

2022 Trip Field

2022 Trip Pairings

2022 Condo Info

Trip History & Info

Trip All Time Scores

Trip Past Winners

Trip Archives 17-21

Trip Archives 13-16

Trip Archives 06-12

Trip Archives 99-05

MB Directions

Trip Player Photos

Fun Photos

Former Player Photos

League Photos

2022 League Info

2022 League Stats

2021 League Stats

2020 League Stats

2019 League Stats

2018 League Stats

* 2018 Post-Season

2017 League Stats

* 2017 Post-Season

2016 League Stats

* 2016 Post-Season

2015 League Stats

* 2015 Post-Season

2014 League Stats

2013 League Stats

2012 League Stats

2011 League Stats

2010 League Stats

2009 League Stats

2008 League Stats

2007 League Stats

Contact Page HOME

Bonus Card

Bowling - Current

Bowling - Records

Bowling 2018-2021

Bowling 2013-2018

Albert's Game

McKees Rocks MASTERS

Formerly known as The Horrible Shot Cup Golf Holiday

It all began in 1994 when tournament founder, John Bechtel, and 3 of his college buddies went to North Myrtle Beach for a Golf Holiday. Little did they know that all these years later, the tournament would boast fields of up to 32 participants competing for The Horrible Shot Cup and Terrible Swing Plate.  After 25 years of making fun of the last place player by having their name engraved in the Terrible Swing Plate, the plate has filled-up and has been retired.

The McKees Rocks MASTERS is a 54-hole event scored by a modified modified Stableford system. This system is best for hackers. It rewards them on good holes, but doesn't penalize them for bad holes.

Points are awarded by the following guidelines:

01 point for a net Bogey
02 points for a net Par
04 points for a net Birdie
06 points for a net Eagle
10 points for a net Double Eagle
10 points for a Hole In One


Handicaps will be adjusted daily according to points earned.

Hcps will be decreased 4 for previous rd pts of 32+
Hcps will be decreased 3 for previous rd pts of 30, 31
Hcps will be decreased 2 for previous rd pts of 28, 29
Hcps will be decreased 1 for previous rd pts of 26, 27

Hcps will be increased 1 for previous rd pts of 19, 18
Hcps will be increased 2 for previous rd pts of 17, 16
Hcps will be increased 3 for previous rd pts of 15, 14
Hcps will be increased 4 for previous rd pts of 13 or under

NOTE: Adjustments can take a player to the other side of 0.  That player would receive (+1) to their score, beginning with the 18hcp hole. 


Other Tournament Rules

NEW 2021 - Players may substitute an average of their practice round point total and their 1st or 2nd round point totals if they are medically unable to participate in either Round 1 or Round 2.  Jail would also be accepted as a reason to envoke this rule.  No substitions for your Round 3 score.

In the event of a tie, the playoff will be 9 holes played with the same handicap as that day.  If players are still tied, then it is sudden death without handicap.



The WHITE tees (closest to 6,000y) are our regular tees.  Here is the criteria for moving up:

If your age plus your white tee HCP equals 70 or more, you may request to play the GOLD tees.  However, ages 58 and under and HCPs of 5 or lower are not eligible for an automatic move-up.  All requests will be reviewed on an individual basis. 

The first year that you move up, your WHITE tee HCP AVG will be reduced by 5.

If the GOLD tee yardage is under 5,500 yards, the BLUE tees will become the regular tees and eligible players will be able to move up to the WHITE tees. 


Handicap System

Every player will be given a HCP AVERAGE that reflects their potential.  Your actual HCP for this event will be based off of your HCP AVERAGE.

HCP AVERAGES are based on an AVERAGE of 4 values.  It's your BEST 3 scores in MB over the past 5 years AND your MB Overall AVG.  Minimum 10 scores for BEST 3.  9 or less use BEST 2 + 1 Dummy

Rookies will have a Myrtle Beach Average assigned to them that reflects their ability. Rookies that play in the Tuesday Golf League will have their HCP Average tabulated using scores from Shadow Lakes.

Once your HCP AVERAGE is determined, we will subtract 72.  This will be your HCP for this Modified Modified Stabbleford Event.  For example:  If your HCP AVERAGE is determined to be 90, we will subtract 72 to get 18.  Then multiply by .75 for a grand total of 14.  That is your HCP for this event.